Seasons: Winter

Juried Members’ Showcase Exhibition

January 22, 2020 - April 19, 2020

Rehoboth Beach Municipal Building

Call for Entry

January 22 through April 19, 2020

Registration Fee: $20.00 (Registration Fee is non-refundable_
Application Deadline:  Monday, January 6, 2020 (5pm)

Notification of Acceptance: Friday, January 10, 2020.
Delivery of Works: January 11 through January 20, 2020.
Opening Reception: Wednesday, January 22, (5-6pm)
Pick-up of Unsold Works: April 20 through April 26, 2020.

This year’s 2020 Members’ juried exhibitions showcased at the Rehoboth Beach City Hall will focus on “Seasons” and will include and represent the four distinct times of year along with any scenes, events, or activities associated with the four seasons. The Seasons have always been associated as a universal reminder of the passage of time and life’s cyclical nature. It has always been a favorite allegorical vessel for artists whether its deeply personal or simply capturing the changing surroundings. The first showcase “Winter,” will be held January 24 through April 19, 2020. Winter can be a time of contemplation and reflection, home and hearth, cold temperatures and warm clothing, and the gentle falling of snow. RAL invites its members working in 2D to submit work interpreting what winter means to them. Any medium and style from traditional to abstract will be accepted for review.

Exhibition Juror: Le Rowell
Le Rowell, independent curator and speaker, specializes in fiber art with over 30 years of experience curating exhibitions in the U.S. and abroad.  Her exhibition Quilts A Cultural Dialogue showcased American-influenced art quilts for Luxembourg’s 1995 year as “Cultural Capital of Europe”.  Assembling art collections for three U.S. Embassies contributed to her belief that art builds bridges of friendship and understanding worldwide.
Le served on the National Advisory Council of the American Folk Art Museum in New York City and on boards of The Alliance for American Quilts, the Virginia Quilt Museum and the Rehoboth Art League.  Awards include the Luxembourg Order of Merit for contributions to mutual understanding and the State Department’s Avis Bohlen Award for contributions to advance American interests abroad. 

Participating Artists

Joan Applebaum, Dawn Autenreith, Kym Bellerose, Jean Bowers, Kevin Burns, Jan Crooker, Anne Hanna, Angela Herbert-Hodges, Katarina Holbrook Spitzer, John Hoyt, Karen Hutchison, Melissa May, Marta Nammack, Marjorie Norris, Kate Norris, Doug Rayfield, John Schisler


Image Credit:  Howard P. Maeder, “Owner Gone South,” watercolor, Collection of the Rehoboth Art League